Movin’ on up. The focus of Republicans and Democrats this week was going through the process of “reorganizing.” This is the time following the elections when the General Assembly choses its party’s leadership for the upcoming session. This year, however, was a little more earthshaking than normal because of some key leaders who retired or were defeated in the election. For example, 5 of the 7 leadership spots in the House Democratic Caucus are new or changed.
In the Senate, history was made when the Senate Republicans—who will remain in the majority—elected former Transportation Committee Chairwomen Kim Ward as its now Majority Leader. This will mean a new Transportation Committee chair in the Senate, but we are pleased that Senator Ward will be moving up within the ranks and now lead the Senate going forward.

History was also made in the House as Democrats elected Joanna McClinton as its new Minority Leader following the shocking upset of former Minority Leader Frank Dermody. Dermody was defeated by Carrie Delrosso, which was a pickup seat by the House GOP. Like Senator Ward, Rep. McClinton is also the first women to be elected as the its party Floor Leader in Pennsylvania history.

A full recap of the Senate and House 2021-22 leadership teams is as follows (new members or changes to leadership italicized):

  • Senate Majority Party (Republican):
    • President Pro Tempore Jake Coreman (R-Centre)
    • Leader Kim Ward (R-Westmoreland)
    • Whip John Gordner (R-Columbia/Luzerne/Montour/Northumberland/Snyder)
    • Appropriations Committee Chairman Pat Browne (R-Lehigh)
    • Caucus Chairman Bob Mensch (R-Berks/Bucks/Montgomery)
    • Caucus Secretary Ryan Aument (R-Lancaster)
    • Caucus Administrator TBD
    • Policy Committee Chairman TBD
  • Senate Minority Party (Democrat):
    • Leader Jay Costa (D-Allegheny)
    • Whip Anthony Williams (D-Philadelphia)
    • Appropriations Committee Chairman Vincent Hughes (D-Philadelphia)
    • Caucus Chairman Wayne Fontana (D-Allegheny)
    • Caucus Secretary Larry Farnese (D-Philadelphia)
    • Caucus Administrator John Blake (D-Lackawanna/Luzerne/Monroe)
    • Policy Committee Chairman Lisa Boscola (D-Lehigh/Northampton)
  • House Majority Party (Republican):
    • Speaker-designee Bryan Cutler (R-Lancaster).
    • Leader Kerry Benninghoff (R-Centre/Mifflin).
    • Whip Donna Oberlander (R-Clarion/Armstrong/Forest).
    • Appropriations Committee Chairman Stan Saylor (R-York).
    • Policy Committee Chairman Marty Causer (R-Cameron/McKean/Potter).
    • Caucus Chairman Mike Reese (R-Westmoreland/Somerset).
    • Caucus Secretary Martina White (R-Philadelphia).
    • Caucus Administrator Kurt Masser (R-Northumberland/Columbia/Montour).
  • House Minority Party (Democrat):
    • Leader Joanna McClinton (D-Philadelphia/Delaware)
    • Whip Jordan Harris (D-Philadelphia)
    • Appropriations Committee Chairman Matthew Bradford (D-Montgomery)
    • Policy Committee Chairman Ryan Bizzarro (D-Erie)
    • Caucus Chairman Dan Miller (D-Allegheny)
    • Caucus Secretary Tina Davis (D-Bucks)
    • Caucus Administrator Mike Schlossberg (D-Lehigh)